I do not like spam. I do not like being tracked. I do not like companies using my data to sell ads. I assume that you feel the same way, and try to act accordingly when building features for Choosy or for this Web site.
Of course, the Choosy app and this Web site need to handle some of your information to do their job. This page goes into detail about what that information is and how it's used.
To give a quick summary:
- The app doesn't store or share any information about you.
- When you buy a Choosy license, the Web site stores your email address and some payment data from PayPal. It's only used to generate and send your license key; nothing else.
- This Web site collects some anonymous usage information.
Using the app
The Choosy app doesn't track how you use it, or the URLs that you visit. It doesn't even store usage history on your own Mac—as soon as Choosy has dispatched a URL to a browser, it forgets all about it.
Choosy only contacts Internet services for two reasons: checking for updates, and expanding short URLs.
Checking for updates
Choosy regularly checks this Web site to see if a new version of the app is available. If there is a new version, it will load release notes from this Web site, and give you the option of downloading the update.
The request for updates does not communicate any information about you or your system.
Expanding short URLS
When the “expand short URLs” feature is enabled, and you open a short URL, Choosy makes a request to the URL shortening service to get the full URL.
If you have enabled this feature and configured it to try to expand all URLs, Choosy will make a request for all URLs it opens to determine if they expand to another URL (i.e. if they redirect elsewhere).
Choosy only makes these requests to expand URLs, and does not store any information about the requests, or the responses. The URL shortening services might log the request, but they would do that anyway even if you weren't using Choosy.
Using this Web site
If you purchase Choosy, I ask for an email address to send the license key to. That email address is stored so that you can recover a lost key. Aside from your license key, you won't receive any email.
When you make a payment through PayPal, some information is sent from PayPal back to the Choosy Web site. This consists of your name, the email address associated with your PayPal account, your country of residence, and some metadata about the transaction (status, date and time, unique identifiers, etc.). This information is also stored alongside your email address for the purpose of resolving payment problems.
I won't sell your email address, or the information received from PayPal, or share it with anyone for any reason.
When you follow a link from one Web page to another, your browser typically
sends the address of the page you came from as part of the request for the
page you are going to. This is called a
From July 2020 onwards, this Web site has internally stored the values of Referer headers, along with the date and time that the referral took place. No other information about the request is stored by the site itself, but other information is sent to external trackers (see Google Analytics below).
The information is used to learn about how people are finding Choosy. For example, if you found this Web site by following a link from a popular news article that mentioned Choosy, the URL of that news article would show up repeatedly in my referral data.
From July 2020 onwards, this Web site internally tracks download counts. When you download Choosy from the site, the date and version number are stored. No other information about the request is stored by the site itself, but other information is sent to external trackers (see Google Analytics below).
This Web site uses Google Analytics to collect anonymous information about how people use the site.
This information is used to answer various questions about how the Web site is performing, including understanding how people tend to find Choosy, and how likely someone visiting the Web site is to either download the app or purchase a license.
If your trial expires, Choosy will redirect the next link it opens to an expiry page on this site to inform you that your trial is over. The URL you were trying to visit before Choosy redirected you is passed along to the Choosy Web site so that the expiry page can include a link for you to follow when you've read the expiry message.
The URL isn't stored by the Choosy Web site, or included in the data sent to Google Analytics. It isn't used for any purpose other than displaying the link.
How Choosy or the Choosy Web site store or process information might change over time.
What won't change is the guiding philosophy of how Choosy handles your data: it will never collect or store more than it needs, and it will never use that data for anything other than helping you open links in the right browser.
Changes to the app will be clearly noted in the release notes, and reflected in an update to this page.
Changes to the Web site will be reflected in an update to this page. If they change how data is used they will only effect newly collected data.